THEY SAY


they say I may die
some say I should have died
yet a number wish me alive,
i fear the dark,
as descends from the east,
chasing the sun with its cold look
causing it to stay hidden
hours on,
I know in it lies my end

If I don’t change,
then few days will count mine,
devoid of suffering
my chance is sewn in change,
they say.

I was with the doctor,
he said, my malady
is unique,
that it will kill me,
not in time, but with time
that for many days
I will cry in pain,
that the nights will be long
mornings will forsake me
the rains will fall,
and my house let them in
my family will beg, when I’m gone
my plate will be taken
that my wife will be raped
my little kids will make tent their home

He said even my vote
I will not cast,
for my tribal leader,

About Sabuni

A computer scientist by, profession. loves writing, listening to jazz, country and the oldies.
This entry was posted in All poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

