I woke up early today


sweet mama,
you live every day,
as ever like yesterday,
only now years gone by
in mine heart.

your eyes always gleamed
like sapphires
beyond price

the night
on the eve of my first form
though with tears,
that didn’t deem the gleam
you told me
how education is key,
you stressed,
always to rise with bird trills
as oversleeping breeds
misery ,
family is always first,
you held
then duty and honor

I was a fool,
never realized
the tears was the pain you had
for leaving family behind,
your only family,
duty you thought absconding
but no
it was not your doing mama
I know you would have loved
to be around and
see me become a man

“and you look beautiful
especially this morning mama”,
it was a Sunday when I said so,
and left for school,
yet inside you knew,
but never revealed,
thought i will cry,
though torn in pieces and pain,
you smiled and wished me well,

Now,
the mound of earth is flat
little flowers flourish
where you lain
its sunrise again mama
I woke up early,
you thought I will be
late again?
no
every word I kept.

About Sabuni

A computer scientist by, profession. loves writing, listening to jazz, country and the oldies.
This entry was posted in All poems, Life, Memories, Poems Hive. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I woke up early today

  1. Sasha says:

    Wow! this is awesome Robert. The poem truly touches the heart of any ready at all times! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Sasha says:

    Wow! this is awesome Robert. The poem truly touches the heart of any reader at all times! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

