My lover never came


The world held its breath,
that still night.
I stood,
trees by my side,
they too waited.

The moon looked down,
and smiled to itself.
The stars held their little hands,
and waited…
I flipped my hand,
minutes ticked away,
She should have arrived,

The pleasant rustic smell of the rain
Filled my nostrils,
my head and brain,
The showers soaked my clothes

I Waited
I waited for her,
anxious to see her face.
Longed to hold her fingers in mine
I stood and watched,
looking for the first sign of her arrival.
But she didn’t
My love never did come.

About Sabuni

A computer scientist by, profession. loves writing, listening to jazz, country and the oldies.
This entry was posted in All poems, Life, Love poems, Memories, Poems Hive. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My lover never came

  1. this is the 3rd tym am readin this piece of art..n i stil think t daent end thea…u holdin bak a lil.anyway,just ua author’s opinion!!
    above all,i lyk da master-piece…

Leave a Reply

